Rob Murphy Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 26 May 2017 09:01:38 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, May 25, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2017.html <p>AM: 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups.</p> Thu, 25 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 24, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2017.html <p>An easy 2 miles.</p> Wed, 24 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 23, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2017.html <p>7.5 miles in City Creek Canyon. Lots of hills. 9:03 average.</p> Tue, 23 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 22, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2017.html <p>Resting the achy knee.</p> Mon, 22 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 21, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2017.html <p>AM: 9.3 rainy, muddy miles on the Pipeline Trail. 8:35 average.Just what the doctor ordered.</p> Sun, 21 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 20, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2017.html <p>AM: 4 laps around Liberty Park plus a little extra before Andy&#39;s game. The Zombies defeated the Giants 7-5 to finish the season 9-2 in first place. Playoffs start this week - single elimination with the Zombies getting a first round bye.</p> <p>PM: 2 mile walk with Ann. Summit&#39;s tumors are shrinking quite a bit with the prednisone the vet gave him. Not a cure but should help his quality of life for a few weeks she said.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 20 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 19, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-19-2017.html <p>AM: 7.25 on the treadmill. 8.4 mph.</p> <p>Bad news yesterday. My pooch has cancer and has 2 months to live at the most. Sadness!</p> <p>PM: Melancholy 2 mile walk around the neighborhood with Summit.</p> Fri, 19 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 18, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2017.html <p>6.25 miles on trails parallel to the City Creek Canyon road.</p> Thu, 18 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 17, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2017.html <p>AM: Rousted myself early to have Abby at orchestra rehersal at 6:30. Did about an hours worth of work at school then went to the gym for a run. 6.25 miles alternating every 1/4 mile between 8.5 mph at 1% grade and 6.2 mph at 7% grade.</p> <p>Then I went back to school, had a couple hard boiled eggs and a banana and read Kareem Abdul-Jabbar&#39;s new book,&nbsp;<em>Coach Wooden and Me.</em></p> <p>&nbsp;PM: 2 mile walk. 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups.</p> Wed, 17 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 16, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2017.html <p>PM: 6.25 miles on the treadmill. Averaged 8 mph.</p> <p>PPM: Long afternoon and evening...but a nice 2 mile walk when I got home.</p> Tue, 16 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 15, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2017.html <p>AM: 2.25 mile walk around Sandy. Twas a beautiful morning along the Wasatch Front.</p> <p>PM: 10 miles in 30 minutes on the stationary bike. Weights, core, jump rope.</p> Mon, 15 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 14, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2017.html <p>AM: 2 mile walk.</p> <p>Late AM: 7.25 miles at Liberty Park. Ran into Nate Krah so a little faster than I&#39;m used to these days. Good to have someone to run with though.</p> Sun, 14 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 13, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2017.html <p>Wonderful 6.25 on the BST from City Creek Canyon to the Davis County gate and back while Andy was at baseball practice.</p> <p>PM: 2 mile walk.</p> Sat, 13 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 12, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-12-2017.html <p>Zero again. I did take a nice 2 mile walk with Ann though.</p> Fri, 12 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 11, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2017.html <p>Zero miles of running. My excuse will be upcoming AP exam,&nbsp;the region track meet, and my sore knee.</p> Thu, 11 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 10, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2017.html <p>3 miles coolinf down with the team at Skyridge HS.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 10 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 09, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2017.html <p>Decent treadmill run followed by a short swim.</p> Tue, 09 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 08, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2017.html <p>AM: One mile jog with Andy. Jumping jacks. He&#39;s trying to become a warrior kid!</p> <p>PM: Striders at the baseball field.</p> Mon, 08 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 07, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2017.html <p>8.25 miles ar Jeremy Ranch with Jake and Andrea. 8:03 average. Brunch at Loco Lizard after.</p> <p>PM: Walked to the gym. Weights. Swim. Walked home.</p> Sun, 07 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 06, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2017.html <p>6.25 on the treadmill. Averaged 7:30. Swam 10 laps after.</p> Sat, 06 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 05, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-05-2017.html <p>8 miles on the Pipeline. Warmish. Crowded with mountain bikes.</p> Fri, 05 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 04, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-04-2017.html <p>Thwarted.</p> Thu, 04 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 03, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2017.html <p>6.25 miles at Liberty Park. Very crowded.</p> Wed, 03 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 02, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2017.html <p>A leisurely 4. Beautiful night.</p> Tue, 02 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 01, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2017.html <p>Battling a pretty bad cold. Might not run today.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 01 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 30, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-30-2017.html <p>8.75 miles on the Round Valley trails in Park City. Did a workout on the outdoor gym after. Pondered.</p> <p>PM: 2.5 mile walk after the huge Bucca di Beppo adoption day dinner.</p> <p>Closes out a solid 108 mile April. Ha!</p> Sun, 30 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 29, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-29-2017.html <p>AM: 6 mile run around Kaysville with Brandon, Ian, and David after the 1600.</p> <p>2 pm: Annual Davis Invitational gluttony. Enjoyed chatting with Olympian Jared Ward.</p> <p>PM: Mowed the lawn. Mowed the out of town neighbors lawn. Walked 2 miles.</p> Sat, 29 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 28, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-28-2017.html <p>5.25 treadmill miles including 4 in 29:45. A small victory to dip under 7:30 pace.</p> <p>Push-ups, sit-ups, and pull-ups after. Lots of them.</p> Fri, 28 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 27, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2017.html <p>Off day. Track meet.</p> Thu, 27 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 26, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2017.html <p>5.25 treadmill miles. Pause:</p> Wed, 26 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 25, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2017.html <p>AM: 125 push-ups, 125 ab related exercises, Jumping Jacks.</p> <p>PM: 4.25 miles. Neighborhood/Sugar House. Busted out an 8:05 ap.</p> <p>Started reading Nike founder Phil Knight&#39;s memoir,&nbsp;<em>Shoe Dog</em>.&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 Apr 2017 06:00:00