Rob Murphy Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 21 Jul 2019 03:34:29 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Jul 20, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2019.html <p>AM: Walked 5 miles.</p> <p>PM: 6.5 miles on the Helix. Listened to Jason and the Scorchers.</p> Sat, 20 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 19, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2019.html <p>Knee hurt quite a bit. Just walked a couple miles.</p> Fri, 19 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 18, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2019.html <p>AM: 5.25 miles on the treadmill. 22 lengths of the pool.</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 17, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2019.html <p>AM: 5 easy miles around Liberty Park.</p> <p>PM: 4 X 30 push-ups, 30 sit-ups, 1 minute plank.</p> Wed, 17 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 16, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-16-2019.html <p>AM: Swam 40 laps. Going to work my way up to swimming a mile or two every other day.</p> <p>PM: 4 mile walk.</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 15, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-15-2019.html <p>AM: 5 miles around Liberty Park. 3 with Andy.</p> <p>PM: Walked 4.25 miles</p> Mon, 15 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 14, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2019.html <p>AM: 4 mile walk.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>PM: 125 push-ups/sit-ups, core, 22 laps in the pool.</p> Sun, 14 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 13, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2019.html <p>AM: 5 mile run around Liberty Park.</p> <p>PM: 3 mile run/walk with Andy. Stopped for ice cream halfway.</p> <p>Finished the PBS American Experience&nbsp;<em>Chasing the Moon.&nbsp;</em> That series just keeps getting better.</p> Sat, 13 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 12, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2019.html <p>PM: 3.5 miles with Andy. Scorching hot!</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 09, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-09-2019.html <p>Will be a tough week. Taking a College Board class all week up in Davis County and I have a really bad cold....</p> Tue, 09 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 08, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2019.html <p>No run. Walked 4 miles. Struggling with a summer cold.</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 07, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-07-2019.html <p>AM: From the Alta Lodge up to Albion Basin and around a bit. Walked back down.</p> Sun, 07 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 06, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2019.html <p>AM: Easy 4 mile walk/jog</p> Sat, 06 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 05, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-05-2019.html <p>AM: 2 easy miles then weights. Probably overdid the lifting and will be sore tomorrow.</p> <p>Spent the rest of the day watching Andy play baseball. Lost to Beaver 13-9 but then beat Murray 18-3 to advance to the Babe Ruth 13U Southwest tournament in a couple weeks.</p> Fri, 05 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 04, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2019.html <p>AM: 6.5 up and down Grandeur Peak. Started and 4:35 to get back before the neighborhood breakfast/parade.</p> <p>No tanks in our parade.</p> Thu, 04 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 03, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2019.html <p>AM: 6.5 on the elliptical plus more swimming. I really do like to swim.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 03 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 02, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-02-2019.html <p>AM: Hard 6.25 miles on the elliptical and then a decent swim.</p> <p>PM: 3 mile walk. Push-ups and sit-ups.</p> <p>The meniscus in my left knee is almost certainly torn in a similar fashion as the right one that I recently had repaired only, judging by the pain, worse. Another operation is not in our budget right now so I&#39;ll probably just deal with it. This is definitely a bummer as I had set my running expectations very low&nbsp;but apparently not low enough.</p> Tue, 02 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 01, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-01-2019.html <p>Just a couple mile walk. Andy&#39;s baseball team won their first tournament.</p> Mon, 01 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 30, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-30-2019.html <p>AM: 7.25 miles on the treadmill plus a few blissful laps in the pool. Icing knee now.</p> Sun, 30 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 29, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2019.html <p>AM: 5 mile walk.</p> <p>Spent the rest of the day at the key task of counting pitches and scoreboard operating at Andy&#39;s baseball tournament. His team won both of their games over Murray and Southeast Valley (Draper and Sandy) by a wide margin.</p> Sat, 29 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 28, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-28-2019.html <p>AM: Grandeur Peak hike. Knee hurt a fair amount coming down. Icing now.</p> Fri, 28 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 27, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-27-2019.html <p>AM: 5.25 miles cross training plus lifting.</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 26, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-26-2019.html <p>AM: 7.25 miles on the treadmill in 1:02 with a1.5 to 2% grade. Managed a little bit around 7-minute pace.</p> Wed, 26 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 25, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-25-2019.html <p>Rest day. Lots of travel and dealing with lost luggage. Thanks Delta!</p> Tue, 25 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 24, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2019.html <p>AM: Easy 5 miles.</p> Mon, 24 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 23, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2019.html <p>PM: 6.3 miles on the Cannon Valley Trail in Red Wing Minnesota - home of boots and pottery. Recalled when we stayed here 17 years ago with just Abby and there was a tornado. Averaged 8:30/mile and ducked under 8 for the last 2 miles. Sort of feeling like a runner.</p> <p>Eventful day. Went to St. Croix Falls Wisconsin, the town where Andy was born in 2005. None of us had ever been there except Andy of course. Found the hospital and walked around town for a while.</p> <p>There&#39;s a brewpub everywhere these days! I&#39;ve been visiting too many on this trip</p> Sun, 23 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 22, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2019.html <p>AM: 4 mile walk.</p> <p>PM: 5 miles on the treadmill at the hotel back in Minneapolis.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 21, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2019.html <p>AM: 6.3 miles. 8:48 pace.</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 20, 2019 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2019.html <p>Rest day. Just some mattress hauling.</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2019 06:00:00