Rob Murphy Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 21 Jul 2017 18:41:14 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Jul 21, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-21-2017.html <p>9.3 miles on the Pipeline Trail early. Kept the pace easy.</p> <p>Our dog Summit died today. He was diagnosed with cancer back in May and he lived a little longer than the vet said he would back then. Up until 2 days ago he was doing ok&nbsp;although slowing down a lot. Still chasing his ball and going for walks. But yesterday he just stopped everything and I had to carry him into the vets office. Hard with a 106 pound dog. Rough day!</p> Fri, 21 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 20, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2017.html <p>At Sugar House&nbsp;Park. Included the state xc course.</p> Thu, 20 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 19, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2017.html <p>12 miles up at Alta which is a pretty long Alta run.</p> <p>PM: 2 mile walk. Stretching.</p> Wed, 19 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 18, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2017.html <p>Elipticalaling at the gym, Swam 10 laps. Hot tub soaking.</p> Tue, 18 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 17, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2017.html <p>8 miles in the lower gully. 8 minute average.</p> Mon, 17 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 16, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-16-2017.html <p>AM: 3 mile hike in the Wasatch Mountains of Utah with Andy.</p> <p>PM: 8.25 &nbsp;miles on the treadmill at 24 Hour Fitness.</p> <p>If you&#39;re one of those people that believes the private sector does everything better than the public sector what with all their competition and accountability, how do you explain a crappy company like 24 Hour Fitness that keeps right on not going out of business? Every government owned gym or health club I&#39;ve ever been too whether it was operated by Salt Lake County or the U.S. Army is far and away superior.</p> Sun, 16 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 15, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-15-2017.html <p>My summer racing season continued today with the Draper Days 5k. Since this race is always on the USATF circuit and has a long tradition, it usually brings out a lot of fast runners. I saw Brad Barton on the starting line but didn&#39;t know he&#39;d turned 50. If I had known, I would have realized I was racing for 2nd place in my age group. Brad is the oldest person in history to break 4:20 for the mile having run a 4:17 at age 48. So, yeah...that&#39;s what it&#39;s like racing in Utah. He ran a 16:17 at 50 years old to take 4th overall. Another realm.</p> <p>I&#39;m happy with my time of 18:20. Splits were 5:58, 5:47, 6:06, .29. Not that thrilled with the mile 3 split but, in my defense, I was getting tired at that point and was feeling uncomfortable. Hard to run under those circumstances!</p> <p>Age graded 15:46 if you believe in the theory that people slow down as they age.</p> Sat, 15 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 14, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2017.html <p>Afternoon run around Sugar House Park. Andy came with me on his bike. Took a break at 3 miles so he could play in the creek. Went to Zupas after so we could eat and visit Abby at work.</p> Fri, 14 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 13, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2017.html <p>unplanned day off.</p> Thu, 13 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 12, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2017.html <p>6.25 miles at Liberty Park. 6 long striders.</p> Wed, 12 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 11, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-11-2017.html <p>Zero. Sat in class all day at Davis High School.</p> <p>Went up and talked&nbsp;to Corbin Talley for a while. He just accepted the head coaching job at Weber State. They won&#39;t regret it.</p> Tue, 11 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 10, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-10-2017.html <p>14.5 miles on the Jeremy Ranch Road. 8.15 average so keepin&#39; it chill today :-). Didn&#39;t drop under 8 minute pace until mile 12. Things I thought about along the way...</p> <p>1. Teaching stuff and how to do it better. 2. The need to re-instate a military draft in this country. 3. The Pony Express and how cool that was. 4. Why the Murphy kids aren&#39;t into reading books of any kind ever when both their parents have college degrees and read all the time. 5. The importance of hydration on long summer runs. 5. How Trump Jr. just issued his third statement clarifying his meetings with Russians and how if you have to issue 3 statements on the same subject you are either lying or have horrible communication skills. 6. How it&#39;s possible that, given the fact that the JRR run is an out-and-back, there always seems to be a headwind both ways. 7. Maybe taking a quick trip to Lake Tahoe for a few days at the end of July.</p> <p>( the Jeremy Ranch Road is the old Pony Express route from 1859-1860)</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 10 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 09, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-09-2017.html <p>Treadmill run. I was feeling pretty good and had to resist the urge to do more.</p> <p>Dropping the boy off at Camp Tuttle up in Big Cottonwood Canyon for the week. He&#39;s excited but I&#39;m going to miss him.</p> Sun, 09 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 08, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2017.html <p>I wanted to write up a decent race report today so I could remember a few things but all the data is missing from my Garmin and I don&#39;t know why. I saved my run after crossing the finish line but when I push the history button on my watch it says &quot;No history. Go Run&quot;!&nbsp;</p> <p>Screw you Garmin. I&#39;ll try to go by memory...</p> <p>Mile 1: 6:40 something. This is a very gradual uphill most of the way on a wide trail. I was breathing a little harder than I wanted to that early. Was in something like 9th place.</p> <p>Mile 2: 7:30ish. All uphill, some of it pretty steep, with some rocky singletrack at the end. Maintained my position but felt like crap and refused to push the uphills.</p> <p>Miles 3, 4: Low 7 pace for both.Switchbacks and singletrack the whole way. Rolling hills. Pretty rocky so I had to be careful on the downhills not wanting to mess up my knee. Got passed by a couple guys after the 4 mile including Mark Christopherson, a 40 something year-old ultra trail running dude from Park City that I beat a few weeks ago in the 5k. Thought I might catch him later but no dice. This is the kind of running that I don&#39;t excel at in trail races. I&#39;m just sort of trotting along, enjoying the &nbsp;scenery, not racing with much intensity but really enjoying the view.</p> <p>Mile 5: 6:06. Fastest mile on the course. Only caught one guy though. Disappointed in that but happy with the split.</p> <p>Mile 6: 6:50ish. I could see Christopherson but I was gased. Was hoping he&#39;d roll an ankle or get mauled by a bear. No luck!&nbsp;</p> <p>Last half mile: 3:20. Decent finish. 12th overall - down from 11th in the 5k. Won the not very competative 50-54 age group.</p> <p>Gulped a lot of free chocolate milk after and ran 2 miles in 18 minutes. Went to the awards ceremony and basked in the adulation of the crowd. Humbly answered a couple questions about how a human could possibly run so fast at such an advanced age. Odd after a 45:32 but it is a hard course at a high elevation and it was unusually hot today so I&#39;m happy. Interestingly, the people who were asking were both wearing these big running backpack things. I asked them if they wore them in the race and they said they did. I suggested that with 3 water/gatorade stops over 6 plus miles that they might not be benefiitting from carrying such a large store of provisions on their backs.&nbsp;</p> <p>Listened to Tom Petty&#39;s &quot;Pack Up the Plantation&quot; live album on the way down the mountain.</p> <p><em>No matter how old I get, the race remains one of life&#39;s most rewarding experiences. My times become slower and slower, but the experience of the race is unchanged. Each race a drama, each race a challenge, each race stretching me in one way or another, and each race telling me more about myself.</em></p> <p><em>-&nbsp;</em>George Sheehan</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 08 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 07, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-07-2017.html <p>AM: 2 mile walk.</p> Fri, 07 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 06, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2017.html <p>4.25 miles elipticle. Swim. Baseball.</p> Thu, 06 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 05, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-05-2017.html <p>Alta Run: Up, 6 campground loops, down. 9:05 pace.</p> Wed, 05 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 04, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2017.html <p>Might write up a lengthy race report later. Fun to get out and race a road 5k. 5Ks are hard.</p> Tue, 04 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 03, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2017.html <p>Gully Long Run in 52:45/8:22 pace. It was maybe the hottest at 8 am in the gully that I can remember. A real slog. Swam a few laps after.</p> <p>I&#39;ll probably race the Sandy Classic 5k tomorrow. Really focusing on the Park City Trail Series 10k this Saturday.</p> Mon, 03 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 02, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-02-2017.html <p>4 miles of mountainous running/hiking.</p> Sun, 02 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 01, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-01-2017.html <p>12.75 miles at Jeremy Ranch at 7:55 pace with Kramer Morton. Actually, I drove up with Kramer and ran the first mile with him but then he ended up running 16 miles in the time it took me to run 12.75.</p> Sat, 01 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 30, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-30-2017.html <p>AM: 10 miles. Round Valley Trails. Got a little bit lost.</p> Fri, 30 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 29, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2017.html <p>10 miles. 7:45 pace. Porter Rockwell out-and-back.</p> Thu, 29 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 28, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-28-2017.html <p>AM: 9.25 miles up at Alta. 4 campground loops.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 27, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-27-2017.html <p>4.25 miles eliptickling, 1 mile stair mastering. Weights and swimming.</p> Tue, 27 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 26, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-26-2017.html <p>Monday. Day of Rest.</p> Mon, 26 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 25, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-25-2017.html <p>The whole Jeremy Ranch Road with Jake. 14.4 miles in 1:51:50. 7:46 pace. Warmish at the end and I struggled a wee bit on the way back. Soaked in the river after.</p> Sun, 25 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 24, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2017.html <p>9.25 miles on the Pipeline with Jake and Andrea. 8:10 AP.</p> <p>First 50 mile week of 2017!</p> <p>Big game this afternoon in Taylorsville - Salt Lake All Stars vs. Hunter/Cypress All Stars at 4:30 pm. 5100 South, 2200 West.</p> Sat, 24 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 23, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2017.html <p>AM: 4 mile hike on the Pipeline Trail with Ann and Andy.</p> <p>PM: 4.25&nbsp;miles circling Liberty Park.</p> Fri, 23 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 22, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2017.html <p>6.25 out and back on the Porter Rockwell during XC practice. 7:46 AP.</p> <p>Short swim and hot tub after.</p> Thu, 22 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 21, 2017 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2017.html <p>12.25 miles at Alta Ski Area. 10.25 on my own at 7 am and then 2 more up and down the summer road during practice.</p> <p>On the way down the canyon, I felt the strong call of fish tacos so I stopped by Lone Star. Heed the call!</p> Wed, 21 Jun 2017 06:00:00