Rob Murphy Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/ Sat, 24 Feb 2018 18:49:40 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Feb 24, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-24-2018.html <p>Today I wrapped up a winter race season of 4 races in 5 weeks with the Salt Lake Track Clubs Winter 15k.</p> <p>After an easy couple mile warm-up with Justin Park I started conservatively in a pack that included Dennis Simonaitis. So often in these races I find myself running alone in my own personal no-man&#39;s land so I was glad to&nbsp;have company. There was a headwind going out so it was nice to be able to tuck in behind some other runners. Wasn&#39;t worried too much about pacing - just wanted to be in a good position at the turnaround (4.65 miles) without being in too much pain. There was some pretty intense competition for the Grand Masters title between me, Dennis, and Bill Cobler. As usual, Bill took it out fast but Dennis and I were within 30 seconds at the halfway point. We both picked it up going into the 5th and 6th miles and passed Bill. Then Dennis put in a pretty good surge and gapped me by about 10 seconds. I thought I might be able to catch him the last .3 but ended up in 13th place 6 seconds behind&nbsp;Dennis. Thus, my grand total of career wins against Dennis remains stalled at ONE.</p> <p>Turns out they do series scoring now for the 5k, 10k, and 15k and I ended up edging Bill out for the Grand Masters championship for which I received a nice award and a nifty Brooks LSD wind jacket/shell. That was cool.</p> <p>3 mile cool down jog with Dennis after. Nice to chat with him and pick his brain.</p> <p>Consistent splits of 6:16, 6:13, 6:21, 6:23, 6:16, 6:12, 6:19, 6:20, 6:19, 2:06</p> <p>This was my 100th race since joining the FRB in 2010.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 24 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 23, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-23-2018.html <p>PM: Short treadmill run with a couple race paced 400s thrown in.</p> Fri, 23 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 22, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-22-2018.html <p>PM: 6.25 easy miles. A cure for a frustrating family evening of teenage angst and 6th grade math project. Honestly, I give myself a good, solid C- grade as a parent.</p> Thu, 22 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 21, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-21-2018.html <p>PM: 11.25 miles on the treadmill at 7:20 pace followed by 1 mile on the new Double-Helix-Quad-Masher.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 21 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 20, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-20-2018.html <p>AM: More snow shoveling.</p> <p>PM: 2.5 miles with Andy in 24:50.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 20 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 19, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-19-2018.html <p>9.25 treadmill miles fairly hard. Early afternoon breakfast at the Blue Plate after.</p> Mon, 19 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 18, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-18-2018.html <p>I went up Millcreek Canyon around 10:30 AM to run the Pipeline Trail. Tried to do this yesterday when it was nice and sunny but their was no parking at any of the trailheads. Combine Sunday in Utah with an oncoming storm and today I had blisfully empty trails.</p> <p>9.3 miles in 1:18:16 for an 8:25 average. Trails were pretty muddy in the upper portion.</p> Sun, 18 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 17, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-17-2018.html <p>PM: 6.5 miles of awesomely muddy trails in City Creek Canyon.</p> <p>Later PM: 2 miles with Andy to the Garden Center and back.</p> Sat, 17 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 16, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-16-2018.html <p>AM: 8.25 miles on the treadmill at 7:20 pace.</p> <p>Heading out on an overnight road trip with Andy this afternoon.</p> <p>PM: 2 miles around Green River in 20 minutes with Andy. Discovered a whole new section of town. :-)</p> Fri, 16 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 15, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-15-2018.html <p>8.25 miles around the Alta High track mostly.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM: 2 easy miles with Andy to the garden center and back.</p> Thu, 15 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 14, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-14-2018.html <p>PM: 8 miles easy.</p> Wed, 14 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 13, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-13-2018.html <p>Sort of getting back into the swing today...</p> <p>Treadmill run. Alternated 3/4 mile at about 7:10 pace with 1/4 mile at 6:00 pace. I did this for about 7.5 miles.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 13 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 12, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-12-2018.html <p>PM: 4 easy miles. 3.5 of it with Andy.&nbsp;</p> <p>Settling in now to watch the Jazz take on the Spurs.</p> Mon, 12 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 11, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-11-2018.html <p>AM: 5 easy miles around the park. Andy rode his bike with me.</p> <p>PM: 4 mile walk with Ann around a cemetary.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 11 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 10, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-10-2018.html <p>One slow mile around the block. Off to the SLTC Winter 10k now. Going to run without a watch and have fun. Maybe snag some free bananas?</p> <p>As I do almost every year at this time except last year when I was running up and down Grandeur Peak 4 times, I ran the SLTC 10k today. This is the first year I&#39;ve done it at the end of a whopping 17 mile weak with achy ribs and difficulty breathing. But the doctor said I wouldn&#39;t hurt myself and I paid for the race a couple months ago, so why not? Plus I just really enjoy these races.</p> <p>Gulped a couple ibuprofins and headed west at around 8:50 this morning. Ran an easy 1 mile warmup and then did&nbsp;dome stretching inside Saltair. Decided to race without my watch and just go by feel so the only split time I have is at the 5k turnaround which was 19:14. I finished in 38:14 so that makes 19:00 for the second 5k by my calculations. I was gaining on Bill the whole return trip and thought I might be able to pull off the&nbsp;age group win, but he held me off by a few seconds. &nbsp;I wish I had made a harder effort to catch him in over the last mile.</p> <p>I achieved my A goal which was to acquire enough bananas to last the week from the post-race spread.</p> Sat, 10 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 09, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-09-2018.html <p>PM: 4 mile walk with Ann. Ribs still hurt and I have a little cold but I&#39;m going to try and race the 10k tomorrow anyway.</p> Fri, 09 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 08, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-08-2018.html <p>PM: 5 mile walk around Sugar House with a little easy running.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 08 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 07, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-07-2018.html <p>2 painful miles to the garden center and back. Finally got fed up with it and went to the urgent treatment center to get my ribs/chest looked at.</p> <p>Had 3 chest x-rays and fortunately nothing seems cracked or broken. They diagnosed something called costochondritis which is an inflammation of the rib or cartilage that connects to the sternum that can cause persistent sharp or aching chest pain (true that!). The doctor expressed surprise that I could race last Saturday just a couple days after it happened.</p> <p>He also said that I could expect the pain for another 3 weeks or so. Joy! The good news is I can run without doing anyfurther damage if I can &quot;tolerate the pain&quot;.&nbsp;</p> <p>Glad to know what&#39;s going on.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 07 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 06, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-06-2018.html <p>6 easy miles around the neighborhood. Ribs still hurt.</p> <p>Trump wants to have a big military prade. Totally out of the American tradition. Something that fascist countries and the Soviet Union specialized in.</p> <p>For a man who never served and used a fake bone spur thing to dodge the draft in Vietnam, Trump really has a fetish for the military.</p> Tue, 06 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 05, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-05-2018.html <p>PM: Very slow 7.25 miles in the gully followed by a mile on the stair stepper. Hot tubbed to try to work out some of the stiffness.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 05 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 04, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-04-2018.html <p>Rest Day. Legs are sore - especially lower legs. Probably the spikes. Napped for a couple hours when I got home from Atlanta then went for a long walk with Ann. Watched the Super Bowl with our next door neighbors. Learned how to ride a Hoverboard.</p> Sun, 04 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 03, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-03-2018.html <p>Bret and I drove down toTallahassee from Atlanta on Friday. Stayed that night at Doug&#39;s house there and put ourselves in his capable hands for the weekend. So it was pretty worry-free as Doug chauffered us to packet pick-up, fed us, and got us to the race on Saturday.</p> <p>The course was first rate and the masters race had over a hundred runners including some guys like Kevin Castille who can run 5 miles in the low 24 minute range. After the gun went off, I waas quickly reminded how cross country racing isn&#39;t like anything else, more strategic, conserving energy, making the right move at critical times. Moderately hilly loop course. My splits were 5:54, 6:09, 6:15, 6:27, 5:54. I was actually moving up one or two runners each loop and nobody passed me after the first mile.&nbsp;</p> <p>I really enjoyed this race and the change of pace. Tired now and a little sore. Flight back to Salt Lake at 8:10 am tomorrow so I&#39;ll be back in time ro rest and watch the Super Bowl.</p> Sat, 03 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 02, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-02-2018.html <p>4 miles around Bret&#39;s golf course here in Milton, Ga. 31 degrees! Driving down to Tallahassee now.</p> Fri, 02 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 01, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-01-2018.html <p>No run today. Spent the day flying to Atlanta and nursing my sore ribs.</p> Thu, 01 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 31, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-31-2018.html <p>4.5 easy miles. I fell down through no fault of my own and messed myself up pretty good. &nbsp;Hit my head hard and my ribs really hurt.</p> Wed, 31 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 30, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-30-2018.html <p>1.75 mile warm-up</p> <p>5 X 800 meters in 3:00 down to 2:45 for the last one.</p> <p>Short cool down then hot tub. Pressed for time on extended lunch break.</p> <p>Heading to Jazz vs. Warriors tonight.</p> Tue, 30 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 29, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-29-2018.html <p>AM: Brisk 2 mile walk around Sandy. 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups.</p> <p>PM: 4.5 mile run plus six striders&nbsp;around Sugar House Park in my new XC spikes.</p> Mon, 29 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 28, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-28-2018.html <p>AM: Walked 2.5 miles to and from church. I love being able to walk places. If I could make one practical change to my daily grind, it would be the ability to walk or bike to and from work.</p> <p>PM: Ran an easy 12 miles around the Sugarhood. Andy joined me on his bike for half of it. Sun is out, shorts and short sleeved shirt.</p> Sun, 28 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 27, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-27-2018.html <p>AM: 1 mile jog around the block. Race at 10 am...</p> <p>RACE: Mixed bag today. I really thought I could average under&nbsp;5:50/mile and dip under 18. I&#39;ll have to figure out whether it was mental or physical. My splits were 5:45, 6:01, 6:01, :37. Overall, I give myself a B-</p> <p>It was my fastest time in this race since 2014. I have this goal of trying to break 29 minutes for 8k next Saturday in a cross country race at sea level. I think I&#39;m close to being able to do that and I&#39;m hoping today&#39;s tune-up 5k will help.</p> Sat, 27 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 26, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-26-2018.html <p>PM: Easy run but with a handful of race pace pickups sprinkled throughout.</p> Fri, 26 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 25, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-25-2018.html <p>AM: Push-ups, sit-ups, MASSIVE CORE.</p> <p>PM: 5.5 treadmill miles at 7:20 pace. 1 mile stair stepping.</p> Thu, 25 Jan 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 24, 2018 http://Murphy.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-24-2018.html <p>9 miles on the Porter Rockwell Trail with Ian. Felt achy. Not the best run.</p> Wed, 24 Jan 2018 07:00:00